The Long Shadow / Ο ίσκιος του πολέμου

Oceanida

GREEK LANGUAGE BOOK
The city lay in a beautiful bay. As the sun rose we began to see the sprawl of little Turkish houses clambering the steep slopes, painted in rosy pink, mauve, white, yellow, blue. The white domes of the Greek churches glistened in the fresh morning sunshine. The Long Shadow is compelling historical novel which tells the human story of the Eastern campaign in Salonika and will appeal to readers of The Island and The Thread. Fourteen-year-old Andrew discovers his mother's hidden diary at his grandmother's house during a Christmas holiday. His eyes are opened to a family secret when he reads about her time as a nurse on Salonika during the First World War, and the tragic love affair she had with his father, a Greek officer, who died in battle. Four years later Andrew is compelled to visit his father's country and trace his roots. What – and whom – he meets there will change his life forever. The Long Shadow is filled with descriptions of Greece and its people, dramatic images of battles and the terrible conditions endured by the allied armies fighting around Salonika.
 

Παραμονές Χριστουγέννων. Στο αρχοντικό της Αγγλίδας γιαγιάς του ο δεκατετράχρονος Άντριου ανακαλύπτει το κρυμμένο ημερολόγιο της μητέρας του. Μέσα από τις σελίδες του μαθαίνει για τις μέρες που πέρασε η μητέρα του στη Θεσσαλονίκη, υπηρετώντας ως νοσοκόμα στον βρετανικό στρατό κατά τον Α' Παγκόσμιο Πόλεμο. Στην πόλη αυτή, τόσο αλλόκοτη στα μάτια της -ένα σταυροδρόμι ανάμεσα σε Δύση και Ανατολή-, η νεαρή Αγγλίδα γνωρίζει τον πατέρα του, έναν Έλληνα αξιωματικό, και μαζί του ζει έναν μεγάλο έρωτα με τραγική κατάληξη, αφού ο αγαπημένος της πέφτει στο πεδίο της μάχης. Τέσσερα χρόνια μετά από αυτή τη συνταραχτική αποκάλυψη, ο Άντριου νιώθει την ανάγκη να επισκεφτεί τη χώρα του πατέρα του και να ψάξει τις ρίζες του. Αυτό που θα βρει θα αλλάζει τη ζωή του για πάντα.
ISBN 9789604107254
PAGES 720

 

Availability:

Please allow 9 – 15 days for delivery of this item

15.83

Please allow 9 – 15 days for delivery of this item

Gewicht 0.555 kg
Author(s)

Loretta Proctor

ISBN

9789604107254

ISBN-10

9604107259

Year

Language(s)

Original Title
Translator(s)
Pages
Dimensions

Cover